There’s a new movie out call final destination 5. Although I haven’t seen 1-4 and won’t see 5 I am well aware of the plot which is when your time is up it’s up. And although I do believe that to some extent, I fully believe that we ourselves choose our on paths in this life just as much as they are chosen for us. Take my own life for an example. Half of my family has done artwork. My parents even met while attending the Old Ohio Art School, Now The Columbus Collage Of Art And Design or C.C.A.D. I rebelled and went a totally different way, doing skip trace, a.k.a. Bounty Hunting, as well as corp. security in the 80’s. And yet, here I am, 30 years later designing t shirts for a living.

In 49 years of being on this earth, I have been shot twice, stabbed, blown up once and declared dead not once, not twice but three times. And although I wouldn’t really want to live my life over, I wouldn’t take a million dollars to have never lived the life I haved lived. I think that people that have lived a rather strange life tend to value it far more then those who simply lived a “normal” one. The strangest thing that ever happened to me wasn’t dying, it was a phone call I received in May 28th 1975. It was from my grandmother and she called to say that she would always look over me. She had died 12 days before, I was a pallbearer at her funeral, and my grandfather died 9 days after she had with their 53 wedding anniversary in between. After 5 min it dawned on me who I was really taking to and at that exact moment static begain to build on the line until I couldn’t hear her anymore.

So one someone asks me why or how I come up with the designs I do, I simply say that I see things much clearer than most. I have no rose colored glasses, I see live as it is, both the good and the bad and everything in between. And I am thankful that I was given the chance to become who I am. As a wise man once said, “I am not the man that I was yesterday, nor am I the man that I shall become tomorrow, I am simply the man I am today.”

