Every backyard casting video you see all says that you need a foundry that has a refractory core wrapped in a steel casing. Which is why the one I built uses a steel bucket lined with a plaster/sand mix. But the link to the video below shows how a guy uses a simple ceramic blanket and a propane weed torch, mine runs on charcoal but I bought a weed torch last month for the new one, to reach the temp needed, 2,000 F, to melt 10lbs of Bronze in only 22 min! Could we all be making something that is really so simple, maintaining heat in a small space, so complicated? I had planned of buying a ceramic blanket, and I think before I go and buy all the other that a traditional propane foundry is built from, I will try this design. What have I got to lose?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUdPomafBKA

